Alfriston is a beautiful Sussex village which lies in the valley of the River Cuckmere, about four miles (6 km) north-east of Seaford and south of the main A27 trunk road and part of the large area of Polegate. The parish has a population of 769 (2001 census), increasing to 829 at the 2011 census. The east side of the village is home to the village green, which is called the Tye. In the centre of the Tye is St. Andrew's Church which lies on a raised mount surrounded by a flint wall. Next to it is the Alfriston Clergy House, a National Trust property, the first purchased by them. Also on the Tye is the Georgian Unitarian Chapel. The wooden sign for the village at the entrance to the Tye was carved by a previous vicar of the village who also repaired the Star Inn's red lion. The centre of the village is the Market Square which contains a market cross. The South Downs Way crosses the river in Alfriston, and then continues up onto the Downs. The village contains three pubs, the Star Inn, the Smugglers' Inn and the George Inn. A Channel 5 archaeology programme, Pub Dig, revealed evidence of long occupation of the site of the Smugglers' Inn, including signs of smuggling, animal butchery and neolithic activity at the rear of the building.Alfriston is surrounded by the Wealden South Downs and the South Downs Way passes through the centre of this historical village. Around the village, visitors can enjoy art galleries, cafes, pubs and boutiques offering a wide range of gifts, from unusual chocolates to music memorabilia. Alfriston hosts many events throughout the year. The most successful being The Alfriston Festival, held over the late August Bank Holiday weekend, Farmers Market, New Year Pantomime and lots more.
Found at the point where the South Downs meets the sea, the Sisters were created when ancient rivers cut valleys into the chalk, creating seven peaks. Haven Brow, the highest of them at 253 feet (77 metres), stands majestically to the west of her other sisters.
The cliffs are receding at about 30-40cm each year on average. The process is intermittent with major falls occurring after heavy rain or rough seas, often two of three times per year. Where these falls occur they protect the base of the cliffs from the sea and usually there are no falls in the same places for eight or nine years until the sea undercuts the cliffs again.
Under the sea at the foot of the cliffs are a number of gullies and ridges - varied marine life such as sea anemones, snails, and sponges can be found there. Now part of the Heritage Coast, an ‘Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty’ and also a ‘Site of Special Scientific Interest’, the beauty of the area will be protected for generations to come.
Cuckmere Haven (also known as the Cuckmere Estuary) is an area of flood plains in Sussex, England where the river Cuckmere meets the English Channel between Eastbourne and Seaford. The river is an example of a meandering river, and contains several oxbow lakes. It is a popular tourist destination with an estimated 350,000 visitors per year, where they can engage in long walks, or water activities on the river. The beach at Cuckmere Haven is next to the famous chalk cliffs, the Seven Sisters. Enjoy a walk with far reaching views to the sea, over the downs and northwards towards the Weald. Smell the salty tang of the air and listen to the cries of seabirds as you discover this unspoilt spot. Enjoy far reaching views from the peace and shelter of Cradle Valley
In April 1865 The Eastbourne Pier Company was formed with a working capital of £15,000. Work began in April 1866; Four years later Lord Edward Cavendish opened the pier although it wasn’t completed until 1872. The pier is 300 meters long and built on stilts, which rest in cups on the seabed allowing the whole structure to move during rough weather. The piers entrance was originally built on the lower promenade but due to the rough storms in 1877 it was swept away; it was then rebuilt at a higher level. In 1888 a 400-seater domed pavilion was built and just two years later a 1000-seater theatre, Bar, Camera Obscura and Office Suite replaced it, that same year two saloons were built in the midway. During the Second World War decking was removed to host machine guns to provide a useful advantage point to repel enemy landings. In December 1942, an exploding mine caused considerable damage to the pier and nearby hotels; it had been tied to the stanchions by the local police, who were under the mistaken impression that it was fitted with a safety device. The 1000 seat theatre was then destroyed by a fire in 1970 and was replaced with an evening entertainment venue that has since become home to Atlantis Nightclub, The Waterfront Cafe/Bar. In 2014 the pier caught fire again, this time destroying the large arcade and saloons in the midway. After this the buildings were then dismantled and it was created into an ‘Open Deck’ area. Mr Sheikh Abid Gulzar a local hotelier, brought the pier in November 2015. In the short time he has owned the pier, Mr Gulzar has since renovated the pier including re-painting, adding 20 new benches to the open deck area and providing entertainment for visitors.
Visit The Waterfront, Sovereign Harbour for shopping, eating, drinking, relaxing, or simply walking. The New England is located approximately one hour walk from the Sovereign Harbour. Alternatively you can drive there and park in the Harbour's free car park near the Crumbles Retail Park. Sovereign Harbour is northern Europe’s largest composite marina complex and boasts four linked harbours and the hugely popular Waterfront retail and restaurant development. Ideal as a day out for the whole family, watch the boats and yachts come in and out of the marina via the interesting locks. The Waterfront has a range of shops, galleries, boat-sales, cafes, restaurants and bars, along with a luxury hair studio, boat tours and charters.
About Towner Towner is an award-winning contemporary art gallery and museum for South East England. We present major exhibitions of UK and international contemporary art – and as a museum, we also have a renowned collection of art from across the ages. Learning and participation are at the heart of what we do. We pride ourselves on providing an outstanding visitor experience – our staff are always happy to talk with you!
Eastbourne Theatres are the Congress Theatre, Devonshire Park Theatre and Winter Garden all situated in the heart of Eastbourne’s cultural quarter and just a short walk from the seafront. The theatres have a combined capacity of more than 3,500 seats and play host to a variety of touring productions. Eastbourne Theatres is owned and run by Eastbourne Borough Council.
Royal Sovereign lighthouse at Eastbourne is a lighthouse marking the Royal Sovereign shoal. Its distinctive shape is easily recognised as it comprises a large platform supported by a single pillar rising out of the water. In 1971, the lighthouse replaced a light vessel which protected the Royal Sovereign Shoal since 1875. Originally, the platform was manned, accommodation being contained in the 'cabin section'. The light was automated in 1994 and is controlled by a 475MHz radio link to Trinity House managed by Vodafone. As of 2006 it was still occasionally occupied. Sussex Voyages operates guided tours to view the tower from the sea: http://www.sussexvoyages.co.uk/tower.html
Founded in 1934 by John Christie and his opera singer wife, Audrey Mildmay, Glyndebourne is committed to presenting opera of the highest quality, commissioning new work, developing new talent and reaching new audiences. Crucially, Glyndebourne has remained financially independent since 1934.
England’s longest medieval water filled moat surrounds the site which dates back to 1229. Explore Michelham’s fascinating 800 year history, from its foundation by Augustinian canons, through the destruction caused by the dissolution of the monasteries in Tudor times and into its later life as a country house. This picturesque island offers a great day out for the family.
The Gardens and Grounds of Herstmonceux Castle is a 300 acre estate including woodland, formal themed gardens and of course a 15th century moated castle. Made from red brick Herstmonceux Castle is one of the earliest examples of a brick built building in England. As well as operating throughout spring and summer as a popular tourist attraction, Herstmonceux Castle also operates as an International Study Centre. Owned by Queen’s University, Canada, the castle hosts international students every year who come to England to study within this tranquil setting.
Drusillas Park is a small 10 acres zoo near to Alfriston, in East Sussex, UK. Its exhibits are targeted towards children between 2 and 10 years old. It is owned by Laurence and Christine Smith, who bought it from the previous proprietor in 1997.
The Bluebell Railway is a heritage line running for 11 mi (17.7 km) along the border between East and West Sussex, England, run by the Bluebell Railway Preservation Society. It uses steam trains which operate between Sheffield Park and East Grinstead, with intermediate stations at Horsted Keynes & Kingscote. The first preserved standard gauge steam-operated passenger railway in the world to operate a public service, the society ran its first train on 7 August 1960, less than three years after the line from East Grinstead to Lewes had been closed by British Railways. On 23 March 2013, the Bluebell Railway commenced running through to its new East Grinstead terminus station. At East Grinstead there is a connection to the UK national rail network, the first connection of the Bluebell Railway to the national network in 50 years, since the Horsted Keynes – Haywards Heath line closed in 1963. Today the railway is managed and run largely by volunteers. Having preserved a number of steam locomotives even before the cessation of steam service on British mainline railways in 1968, today it has over 30 steam locomotives - the largest collection in the UK after the National Railway Museum.The Bluebell also has almost 150 carriages and wagons, most of them pre-1939.
The Redoubt Fortress is one of only three surviving Napoleonic Redoubts in the UK and is recognised by English Heritage as being of national importance!
Find over 200 years of history at the Redoubt Fortress, built during the Napoleonic wars, this unique fortification was also used during World Wars I and II and tells a fascinating story of military campaigns all over the world.